Question: Can you use booming blade on a thrown weapon?

r/dndnext. If you cast booming blade, are you allowed to make a thrown weapon attack but not add the extra damage/effects? No, it specifically says you must make a melee attack with a weapon.

Does booming blade work with thrown weapons?

You can cast Greenflame Blade using a weapon that can be thrown… but you can’t throw the weapon as part of the spell. It must be a melee attack.

Can you use booming blade with extra attack?

Booming Blade doesn’t work with Extra Attacks/Multi-Attacks. To compensate this Booming Blade does add a damage die every few levels. Meaning you won’t be doing double damage at all. Just your normal damage amount with 1 additional damage die.

Can booming blade be used with Shadow Blade?

One of the more notable changes is to the spell booming blade, a popular cantrip used by many melee spellcasters. … Notably, the errata revealed that booming blade could no longer be stacked with the spell shadow blade, as booming blade now requires a material component – a melee weapon worth at least 1 silver piece.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Where can I get better weapons in Morrowind?

Does booming blade count as a melee weapon attack?

It is a melee weapon attack. It uses whatever ability modifier you would use for a melee weapon attack.

Does booming blade benefit from spell sniper?

Spell Sniper Feat

This means on-spellcasting classes can take it for a direct power increase. Additionally, doubling spell range opened up the opportunity to use the blade cantrips with reach weapons, such as polearms. … Booming Blade no longer works with Spell Sniper.

Does Teleport activate booming blade?

Unless you have a teleport movement speed, and used it, teleporting shouldn’t trigger booming blade.

How do you trigger a booming blade?

As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails. On a hit, the target suffers the attack’s normal effects, and it becomes sheathed in booming energy until the start of your next turn.

How many times can I use booming blade?

No, You cannot combine attacks with booming blade.

Beginning at 5th level, you can Attack twice, instead of once, whenever you take the Attack action on Your Turn.

Do Artificers get booming blade?

range of Booming Blade becomes 10ft, allowing you to cast Booming Blade, using a glaive as a weapon, through War Caster for an Attack of Opportunity enabled by PAM. So, you Booming Blade someone that was trying t either run to you or run past you, but before they get to you.

Can you Multiattack with shadow blade?

The drow shadowblade’s Multiattack consists of two Shadow Sword attacks that synergize into a nasty combination. … (This stunt can be performed only once per turn, so even if the shadowblade has more than one patch of darkness lingering around, it can’t use both its Shadow Sword attacks to do this extra damage.)

IT IS INTERESTING:  Your question: Are AR pistols illegal in Indiana?

Why was booming nerfed?

The biggest effect caused by the booming blade range change is that the spell no longer qualifies for the Twinned or Distant metamagic options, which means that sorcerers can’t use their metamagic to target two creatures simultaneously with booming blade, or use the spell in conjunction with a reach weapon.

Can you smite with shadow blade?

Divine smite uses spell slots, but it isn’t a spell, so you are correct in that you can’t use Empower. Empower can be triggered when you roll damage for a spell, so you would have to use it for each attack made with shadow blade.

Does booming blade still work with Warcaster?

The Booming Blade spell continues to work with the War Caster feat. The spell targets one creature.

Blog about weapons